The Mysterious World of Cuddle Parties

Pop Culture Crime
3 min readMar 1, 2019
Photo by Krista Mangulsone on Unsplash

Let it be known that I am terrible at making friends. Socially, I really have no idea what I’m doing. Ever.

As a result, I spend a lot of time looking at Meetup. In the last year I’ve moved to a new state, so I’ve been looking for something new that catches my eye. Cuddle parties certainly did that.

I’m going to be honest and say I have no intention of attending a cuddle party. But they stood out to me. What are cuddle parties all about? Who attends these events? Are they sexual?

I kinda get it. Touch is powerful, and I think we are often afraid to admit that we need this kind of affection from other people. But would I feel comfortable giving and receiving this kind of affection from strangers? I don’t know.

Unraveling the Mystery

From what I can tell, cuddleparty.com is the premier source for all your cuddle party needs. The website promises confidence, clarity, communication skills, and support through the power of non-sexual touch. Apparently the trademarked Cuddle Party involves some sort of certification process, which is rather interesting to me.

Additionally, the website lists a series of steps that happen when you come to a party. First, you arrive at someone’s house and change into pajamas if you wish. The Welcome Circle…

--

--